X, formerly known as Twitter, is now allowing subscribers of XBlue (formerly Twitter Blue) to hide their blue checkmarks from their profiles in the latest app update.
The change was spotted on Wednesday on X's Help Center page to detail how the feature works.
"As a subscriber, you can choose to hide your checkmark on your account. The checkmark will be hidden on your profile and posts. The checkmark may still appear in some places and some features could still reveal you have an active subscription," it wrote.
The company also explained that certain features may be unavailable if users choose to hide their checkmarks. "We will continue to evolve this feature to make it better for you," it added.
To hide the verified symbol, users can head to the "Profile customization" section of account settings where they can turn this feature off.
The Blue Check was previously used to verify the credibility of organizations, media outlets, and famous personalities. However, once Musk took over Twitter and launched Twitter Blue last December, it instead became a symbol that shows a user is a premium subscriber.
The new feature is the latest development from Musk's company since the start of its rocky rebranding last month.
TweetDeck Is Now 'XPro'
Last month, the company announced that the tweet management app TweetDeck will be Twitter Blue exclusive after it placed a rate limit on the number of tweets regular users can view.
Now, the tweet management app is being renamed "XPro" in line with the rebranding of its parent company.
TweetDeck's new name can be seen in the top left corner of the landing page when a user has logged out. Although not much else has changed (including its URL), users can expect the tool to have a look more streamlined with the design of X in the coming weeks.
Edited by Nikola Djuric