Twitter has introduced a new message setting to reduce spam issues in direct messages (DMs).
Starting as soon as July 14th, we’re adding a new messages setting that should help reduce the number of spam messages in DMs. With the new setting enabled, messages from users who you follow will arrive in your primary inbox, and messages from verified users who you don’t follow…— Twitter Support (@TwitterSupport) July 13, 2023
Previously, users would only be able to send you a DM if they chose to “receive messages from anyone” in their settings or if the sender was a verified user.
Although Verified users can still send you a message, their message will be moved to the “Messages Request” section if you are not following them.
The social media company also noted that users can always manually revert their settings back anytime and receive DMs from Verified users again in their primary inbox.
While this update aims to reduce spam messages, some people see this as the company’s way to promote Twitter Blue. When a non-followed user attempts to message someone, they are prompted to subscribe to the verified checkmark.
Twitter made this new setting the default option for users who previously allowed DMs from all Twitter users, drawing criticism from non-paying users.
This is very stupid, imagine if you are doing business on Twitter, your unverified potential client can't DM for business enquiries https://t.co/Ru4OOcgTcA— CoolLeVeZaka (@KuleVeZaka) July 16, 2023
what about unverified users?— totally not ropro and totally not his alt (@NotRoPro) July 13, 2023